top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAgent Hotman

Intro to Mixer

The following blog features content shown previous blogs for reasons that will be explained.


At long last, I've managed to successfully install Quixel Mixer and have begun learning how to use it.

Right off the bat, the software seems to be straightforward to me. The video I'm learning from courtesy of Chris explains things to me in a way for me to understand, which I'm grateful for.

For Monster Monday, the prompt was to make some of a tree kind of creature. I made the tree monster called the Oaktopus from "My Singing Monsters," an app game made by Big Blue Bubble.

For Figure Tuesday, I made Oberoten', my newest OC villain.

In fact, while I was drawing Oberoten', I was developing his backstory and his character. The main inspiration was Larry Foulke; callsign, "Solo Wing Pixy" from the "Ace Combat" games. However, I also took ideas from Zuko in "Avatar: The Last Airbender." Because in my opinion, Zuko has had A LOT of character growth throughout the show. As prince of the Fire Nation, all he cared about was doing what his father told him: Kill the Avatar. Then after being banished from the Fire Nation, Zuko began creating his own ideals to follow and subsequently began teaching Aang how to fire-bend.

Back to Oboroten', he used to go under the name Agent Bilk, as he was a member of the Agents in the past as well as Agent Hotman's wingman. But then one fateful day, Bilk was shot down, forcing Hotman to pull out as he was outnumbered by enemy fighters. With his wingman assumed dead, Hotman continued flying solo until other agents got jets of their own and aided him in what have become known as Naval Aviation Missions, or N.A.M. for short.

Years later, Agent Bilk returns, revealing to Hotman that he was still alive and is now part of the Inferno Corporation; under the name Oboroten' and was now flying the Howler; a modified SU-47 fighter jet, which replaced the YF-17 Cobra fighter jet (The same jet Hotman flew) he crashed in during his time as Hotman's wingman. The two friends, now enemies, battle it out in a dogfight and Hotman emerges victorious.

Hotman and Oboroten' then take their fight to the ground and battle on foot. Hotman once again emerges victorious. As much as he wanted to kill him due to his hate for double-crossers, Hotman just left Oboroten' there on the landscape next to his downed plane; leaving him to think about what he did and what he'd need to do to make amends. Eventually, Oboroten' did change his ways by forming a mercenary group called the Lobos Devastadores in Central America. No longer acting in evil ways, Hotman was happy for him.

For 3D Art Jam Thursday, I continued working on my beginner's guide to Mixer; making a damaged street. I decided I'd be a little bit more creative and use the "Old Concrete" surface layer for the sidewalk to give it a more damaged and/or withered appearance.





Well, that's all I have to share for this week. Until next time, as Larry "Solo Wing Pixy" Foulke once said...


"And thanks, friend. See you again."


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page